You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to WesWorld. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.


Friday, December 18th 2015, 8:31pm

Philippine Naval Construction Programs

Repository for summaries of Philippine naval construction by authorization act.


Friday, December 18th 2015, 8:37pm

Naval Construction Programs as Authorized by the Philippine Senate

Fleet Replenishment Act of 1941

Called for construction of four large armored cruisers, four light cruisers, sixteen destroyers, and eight minesweeper-escorts, together with small craft.

Armored cruisers Visayas, Mindoro, Bohol, and Samal
Light cruisers Surigao, Sarangani, Masbate, and Misamis
Destroyers Pinatubo, Arayat, Mariveles, Masaraga, Iraya, Sembrano, Talinis, Amorong, Balatukan, Kabuyao, Mahagno, Melibengoy, Banahaw, Bulusan, Kalatungan, Malepunyo
Minesweeper-escorts Colorado, Zambales, Pangasinan, Vallejo, Cavite, Bataan, Isabela, Sierra

Supplementary Fleet Replenishment Act of 1942

Called for construction of two additional light cruisers and four amphibious landing ships. This act also provided for the refit of the four heavy cruisers of the Basilan class.

Light cruisers Masbate and Misamis
Amphibious landing ships Danao, Dasay, Sampalos, and Calibato

Emergency Fleet Replenishment Act of 1942

Provided funding for a further two light cruisers, eight destroyers, eight minesweeper-escorts, and four submarines, together with light craft.

Light cruisers Biliran and Bulican
Destroyers Catanauan, Calasiao, Mansalay, Mondragon, Lambunao, Leganes, Alcantara, and Allacapan
Minesweeper-escorts Batanes, La Union, Nueva Ecija, Kudarat, Nueva Vizcaya, Compostela, Camarines, and Romblon
Submarines Audaz, Furor, Intrepido, and Temerario

Naval Augmentation and Replenishment Act of 1943

Covered proposed naval construction for the 1944 and 1945 fiscal years.

The first phase of the program called for construction of four light cruisers, eight destroyers, four escort sloops, eight additional submarines, and eight patrol combatants

Light cruisers Dumarao, Dagupan, Panay, and Palawan
Destroyers Pansur, Poblacion, Saumay, Singapod, Abucay, Almacen, Tagumbas, and Tangaran,
Escort sloops Marakina, Banica, Sawaga, and Agusan
Submarines Aventurio, Dominante, Bravado, Guerrero, Relampago, Toronado, Ingenioso, and Furia
Patrol combatants Marawi, Meycauayan, Pasay, Pateros, Carmona, Calaca, Navotas, and Nasugbu

The second phase of the program provided for the construction of eight additional destroyers, four submarines, two patrol frigates, eight additional patrol combatants, and four civil support ships

Destroyers Marinduque, Maricaban, Manalipa, Mantingue, Mahadi, Monteverde, Malapaso, and Maracano
Submarines Cormoran, Carricero, Codorniz, and Ciquera
Patrol frigates Jolo and Sulu
Patrol combatants Danglas, Daragan, San Isidro, San Luis, Hermosa, Hagonoy, Alfonso, and Amadeo
Civil support ships Cabo Bojeador, Cabo Engaño, Cabo Bolinao, and Cabo Santiago

Naval Reconstruction Act of 1944

Funded refitting and reconstruction of a large number of the Philippine Navy’s existing warships including:

The battlecruiser Mindanao
Two light cruisers of the Poro class
Four light cruisers of the Ticao class
Twelve destroyers of the Aguila class
Twelve destroyers of the Piquero class
Two submarines of the Mako class

New Shipbuilding Replenishment Act of 1945

In addition to funding completion of vessels previously authorized, the act called for construction of two additional patrol frigates and four additional escort sloops.

Patrol frigates Laparan and Dinagat
Escort sloops Abulog, Paranaque, Manupali and Tagoloan

Submarine tenders Pamalican and Maricaban
Base support ship Buenavista and Mondragon

Naval Armament Replenishment Act of 1946

Provided for construction of construction of an additional eight destroyers, eight additional submarines, eight coastal minelayers, one specialized logistics support vessel, and four additional civil support ships.

Destroyers Balintawak, Bonawon, Baelaran, Buntay, Balugasan, Bilogo, Bagumbayan, and Binondo
Submarines Cochoa, Cardinales, Columbina, Chen, Cygnus, Claravis, Cairina, and Coracina
Minelayers Calopan, San Teodoro, Calintan, San Jose, Cagayancilo, San Vicente, Calamba, and San Pablo
Logistics support vessel Cruzado
Civil support ships Cabo Espiritu Santo, Cabo San Ildefonso, Cabo Calavite, and Cabo Buliluyan

Auxiliary Replenishment Act of 1946

Provided funding for the construction of a substantial number naval auxiliaries capable of supporting the fleet in its current operations across the 1946 and 1947 fiscal years.

Motor torpedo boat depot ships Makati, Malabon, Taguig, and Tondo
Minesweeper support ships Sabtang and Siayan
Minelayer support ships Toboso and Talaingod
Escort tankers Abra, Apayao and Aurora


Sunday, February 7th 2016, 5:04pm

Emergency Shipbuilding Act of 1947

Provided funding for construction of eight destroyers of new design to maintain the strength of the light flotillas, viz.:

Escort Destroyers Cabanatuan, Calamba, Lamitan, Lucena, Malabacat, Morong, Solano and Socorro


Thursday, July 21st 2016, 12:18pm

Naval Armament Replenishment Act of 1948

Provided continued funding for construction under way and authorized construction of four light cruisers, eight escort destroyers, two coastal escorts, two antisubmarine gunboats and one escort tanker, viz.:

Light cruisers Benguet, Batangas, Tarlac, and Sorsogon

Escort destroyers Pola, Pontevedra, Roxas, Rosario, Sevilla, Sebaste, Calatrava, and Valladolid

Coastal escorts Alcotan and Halcon

Antisubmarine gunboats Descubierta and Atrevida

Escort tanker Albay


Wednesday, November 15th 2017, 2:36pm

Emergency Shipbuilding Act of 1948

Passed in response to reports of construction of additional submarines by China. Authorized construction of two additional coastal escorts and four additional antisubmarine gunboats, viz.:

Coastal escorts Cernicalo and Esmerejon

Antisubmarine gunboats Vencedora, Cazadora, Centinela, and Serviola


Wednesday, November 15th 2017, 3:00pm

Coast Defense Act of 1948

A comprehensive appropriations act covering not only the construction of fixed defenses throughout the national territory but also the continued funding of vessels previously authorized as well as the building of eight new ocean escorts, two additional antisubmarine gunboats, and thirty-six motor torpedo boats, viz.:

Ocean escorts Numancia, Magallanes, Canalejas, Casco, Lazaga, Cadarso, Villaamil, and Bonifaz

Antisubmarine gunboats Vigía and Atalaya


Saturday, November 10th 2018, 9:58pm

Naval Armament Replenishment Act of 1949

Provided continued funding for construction under way and authorized construction of two 13,000 ton heavy cruisers viz:

Heavy cruisers Leyte and Samar (formerly Cagayan)

Amendment of 30 June 1949

Ocean escorts Kagitingan and Katapangan
Coastal escorts Marcea, Anas, Tortora, and Cucal


Tuesday, June 2nd 2020, 6:06pm

Naval Augmentation and Replenishment Act of 1950

Provided continued funding for construction under way and authorized construction of:

Ocean escorts Karangalan, Kalasag, Kampilan, and Karanbit
Seaplane tenders Lankiam and Loaita
Survey ships Diskobre and Mihagit
Harbor tug Maayon, Mambusao, Sapian, Sigma, Pavia, Portolan, Mayantoc, and Moncada
Hospital tender Kahupayan and Kaluoy