You are not logged in.

Sunday, April 9th 2006, 4:35pm

Quoted

Your joking right?

I'm totally serious. You know I'm an engineering student and I just happen to love 2-stroke diesels because of all their advantages. The problem with the Junkers engines was the arrangement, double-acting with 2 pistons per cylinder. I'm thinking that a Vee arrangement gives me an easier size. 2-stroke diesels need the supercharger in order to compress the air needed for scavenging. The problem is that the supercharger is mechanically driven and robs the engine of useful power. The idea is to use an engine driven supercharger for startup before switching to exhaust driven turbosupercharger which does not take up power from the engine. Another problem is that at high altitudes you actually want the exhaust gases to provide you with more thrust. Can't do that with a turbocharger.

Sunday, April 9th 2006, 10:02pm

Can you point out any WW2 era planes that used diesels, experimental or otherwise?

Sounds overly complex for the time era we are talking about.

Sunday, April 9th 2006, 10:37pm

Diesel aircraft

Quoted

Can you point out any WW2 era planes that used diesels, experimental or otherwise?

Soviet Pe-8 4-engined bombers used them, and 18 of them bombed Berlin in the days after Operation Barbarossa started. There were several engine failures on the mission, so they were replaced by engines burning avgas. I don't know the technical details of the engine failures, so they might not apply to RA's idea.

Sunday, April 9th 2006, 11:13pm

Junkers 86 in mid 1930s using Jumo 205 engines as mentioned earlier. Various other German aircraft designed by Junkers company.

Quoted

Sounds overly complex for the time era we are talking about.