You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to WesWorld. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

HoOmAn

Keeper of the Sacred Block Coefficient

Wednesday, August 5th 2009, 11:42pm

Question on Canadian design

Are those guns on the Tribal class DDs FULLY automatic guns as stated=

Wednesday, August 5th 2009, 11:46pm

Probably like the "automatics" on the Kyustendil: I simmed them as autos to add weight to deal with shell-handling equipment. I noted that in the comments section, though.

Thursday, August 6th 2009, 12:22am

All the 5.5" mounts I have are automation-assisted, I guess the closest historical analog would be the Worcester mounts, but probably less sophisticated (I'm not really an expert on them), but definately nothing approaching the 1950+ 5"/54 mounts. The automation is geared towards averting crew fatigue impact on ROF and DP use, not removing crew from the turrets. I used to sim the twin guns as triples to simulate all the additional weight for the earliest weapons (namely for the Labrador, Ontario, Renown, and Batch I Tribals), but with other players chosing lighter options, I decided to start doing so as well.

HoOmAn

Keeper of the Sacred Block Coefficient

Thursday, August 6th 2009, 10:33am

Hmmmm....

Please don´t think I´m bashing Canadian here. I have some problems with ALL these automatic guns.

You said Worcaster is the example you followed. Well, this is what NavWeaps has about these guns - which entered service in 1948. After some delay, that is, but nevertheless 1937/38 is a it early even for WesWorld.