You are not logged in.

Dear visitor, welcome to WesWorld. If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.


Sunday, April 10th 2016, 1:06am

Map of the North Sea - Detail


Saturday, September 16th 2017, 10:43pm

Map of the Danish Straits


Wednesday, September 20th 2017, 6:36pm

Map of the Celtic Sea and Bay of Biscay


Saturday, September 23rd 2017, 12:53am

Map of the Irish Sea - Relief


Friday, July 6th 2018, 6:19pm

The Rade de Brest

The roadstead and harbor of Brest, France


Tuesday, February 11th 2020, 8:41pm

East Frisian Islands

The East Frisian Islands are popular tourist and excursion destinations located off the mainland coast of Lower Saxony, paralleling the East Frisian Peninsula. The archipelago stretches for approximately ninety kilometres from west to east between the mouths of the Ems and the Weser, and between three and a half and ten kilometres off the mainland. There are extensive mudflats between the islands and the mainland, making up a larger area than the islands themselves. The largest in terms of area is the westernmost island of Borkum, the other inhabited islands are from west to east: Juist, Norderney with the largest city on the islands, Baltrum, Langeoog, Spiekeroog, and Wangerooge . There are also six other small, uninhabited islands: Lütje Hörn east and the Brauerplate north of Borkum, Memmert and the Kachelotplate southwest of Juist, Minsener Oog, and Mellum on the eastern edge of the archipelago. West of Borkum are the West Frisian Islands belonging to the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

The islands have sandy beaches on the seaward side. On the landward side they consist of dunes of various ages, while on the side facing the mainland they pass to the mudflats and salt marshes. Memmert, Lütje Hörn, Mellum and Minsener Oog are uninhabited. The latter was only artificially created to protect the Jade fairway to Wilhelmshaven at the beginning of the Twentieth Century. The islands of Norderney, Baltrum, Langeoog, Spiekeroog and Wangerooge can be reached from the mainland by mudflats during low tide. Norderney is the eastern end of the former island of Buise.

The East Frisian Islands are also the location of several major bases of the Kriegsmarine and Marineflieger.


Thursday, May 28th 2020, 7:16pm

Projekt Hummerschere

Projekt Hummerschere (Project Lobster Claw)

The island of Helgoland has been a major bastion of German naval power since the days of the Empire but in 1940 plans were put in hand for the expansion of the naval facilities there to provide the necessary support for the expanding Kriegsmarine.