You are not logged in.

Tuesday, May 30th 2006, 9:36pm

Influenza

So are we going to have ourselves a serious avian influenza problem amongst the human population, or is the media blowing a few unfortunate deaths entirely out of proportion?

Personally, I'm not sure what to be thinking. As a hobby farmer, I'm more concerned with over-the-top government actions like mass culls or imposition of onerous handling/housing requirements than the actual (and, I think, minimal) risk of getting sick. And if I do get sick, I think there's a far better chance I'll get it from some random dumbass on a bus than from any birds I encounter.

What's the outlook in your parts of the world?

Tuesday, May 30th 2006, 10:10pm

The chance of a global pandemic of "Bird Flu" is 1.00, it will happen sooner or later. We just don't know when.

Am I worried? No not really as there is more chance of me being stabbed to death by knife-wielding ex-prisoners who were released from prison instead of being deported, after the immigrants came into the country and drank all the water in the reservoirs in South East England.

> The above won't make much sense unless you keep notes on British news. Canada could have been invaded by Nazis from their secret base in Antarctica before it was reported here.

Wednesday, May 31st 2006, 1:20am

Bird flu.
Well dose any of You find a dead bird in the road and it it?
I dont.
Do any of You eat raw bird meat?
I dont.
Do any of You eat un boild eggs?
I dont(well I do sometimes)

If you dont do the foremention things then You dont have too worry about bird flu.
Bird flu is common in europe it always had been and always will be.There is absolutly nothing to worry about.

There is one thing thats make me proud to live in poland.
We dont give a rats ass about animal deseses.
When the EU Veterinarian comision went to poland to tell us about proper animal health care,Polish bourd of veterinary told them we got all that sorted out in the 70's.